The Sounds of Silence

SOUNDS OF SILENCE
Amid voices of things that are not there.

Quiet me, I pray.
Deliver me from noise.
Noise within.
Noise without.
Noise

No radio. No TV.
All alone and yet I hear
humming and whirring,
wind chasing wind around corners,
howling

Close me in, Lord.
Stop the voices inside
accusing, reminding me,
condemning and binding me.
Voices.

He welcomes me
with a gentle smile,
brushing away my tears
and hushing my accusers.
In the surrounding silence I hear
His song.

Elaine H. Soerens March 7, 2006

Leave a Reply

