The Many Gabled Attic of My Mind

The many-gabled attic of my mind
is hiding cobwebbed thoughts from days gone by.          
At times I search for hours and fail to find         
a loved one’s name, or why we said goodbye.         
Despair might draw me down and hold me fast.
Shall I lose myself in bewilderment?
With long years left, will my good senses last?
Or will I fade and become insentient?
No, I believe my wits will quite suffice.
I know enough. More words would but confuse.
To be at peace I heed my own advice
and soothe myself, all anxious fears refuse.
     So I intend henceforth to take great pains
     to celebrate each day with what remains.

One thought on “The Many Gabled Attic of My Mind

  1. So poetically well put, Elaine. I remind myself often that I have the mind of Christ, and that I lack nothing in Him and He makes up for all my limitations. I find that as I get older, my priorities change, although I don’t know if that’s due to age or becoming more Kingdom aware. Perhaps they go together. It doesn’t really matter as long as we’re celebrating our days. ~ Nancy

Leave a Reply

