ALL THE WAY

Image

On the way to church this morning, Carl and I were reminiscing about his dad and mom, and the pictures we posted on Facebook yesterday.

On June 3, 1961 we packed all our earthly belongings in a little, uncovered U-haul trailer, covered it with a tarp, dumped our Siamese cat and newborn baby in the car and drove from Des Moines, Iowa where we lived our first two years of marriage, to Cedar Grove, Wisconsin.

We showed up on his parents’ doorstep and announced that Carl had quit his job teaching and was going to be looking for a job in Milwaukee.  Two weeks later he had his first interview and began at once the job he had for 37 years.

What his parents must have thought!  This 23-year-old guy has a wife and a new baby, quits his job and just shows up, takes his good-natured time looking for a job, and moves his little family into a tiny, unheated upstairs flat across the street.

We can suppose what they thought, but what we do know is that for the next year Carl’s dad delighted in his first grandchild, chuckled aloud whenever she was around and also enjoyed my unfiltered and passionately expressed opinions on just about everything.

Baby Susan and I made him laugh.

January 21, 1963, Dad died.

When we consider the joy that our crazy move gave that good man for the last year and a half of his life, we have to believe that even then, when we didn’t really have enough sense to pray about it, God led us.

Thus we have confidence in Him.

Today’s hymn:

All the way my Savior leads me; what have I to ask beside?

Can I doubt His tender mercy who through life has been my guide?

Heav’nly peace, divinest comfort, here by faith in Him to dwell!

For I know, whate’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well.
For I know, whate’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well.

All the way my Savior leads me; cheers each winding path I tread,

Gives me peace for eve’ry trial, feeds me with the living bread.

Though my weary steps may falter, and my soul a-thirst may be,

Gushing from the Rock before me, Lo! A spring of joy I see.
Gushing from the Rock before me, Lo! A spring of joy I see.

All the way my Savior leads me; oh the fullness of His love!

Perfect rest to me is promised in my Father’s house above.

When my spirit, clothed immortal, wings its flight to realms of day,

This my song thro’ endless ages; Jesus led me all the way.

This my song thro’ endless ages; Jesus led me all the way.

2 thoughts on “ALL THE WAY

  1. OMGoodness!! He truly does lead us and causes us to do some things that seem so totally insane to the human mind, and to ours BUT He knows the end. What a wonderful blessing to know that your dad got to see his grand-daughter before leaving this life. Oh Lord!!! Increase my faith so that I can trust that where you lead me is a good place for me to be. Love you guys!!

  2. As a parent, I can imagine what Carl’s parents first thought. Archie Bunker comes to mind talking about Meathead. But, I think you are right that it was God leading you there for a purpose. You had no way of knowing what your move would mean to Carl’s dad, but God did! When I look back on my life, I can see times when God protected me even when I was denying Him. Now that I am saved, I know that even the experiences that were in MY plan are something that God is using today now that I am in HIS plan. I am glad that Susan has photos of her and her granddad even though she probably has no memory of him. Knowing you, though, she has heard many stories about him.

Leave a Reply

