All the Way

What a gorgeous day we are having!  Just warm enough, a very light breeze…

Himself and I were having our lunch on the patio.  He had grilled chicken legs on his new Weber grill.  We split a sweet potato, and that constituted our whole meal.

Our house is a little bit higher than the houses on the street behind us, and from where we were sitting, we could see a panorama of peaked grey shingled roofs, all pretty much alike.  Himself commented, “Who would ever have thought we’d gazing out at a scene like this, and be happy about it?’

I’m a country girl, and I remember saying, “Give me elbow room, cried Daniel Boone.” I thought I needed land, and acres of it, and for sure, a unique house—preferably an Arts & Crafts-era bungalow with generous amounts of shining oak.  Here I am in a veritable ghetto of conventionality, and I cannot remember being this content.

Only Himself and I know all the steps that brought us here. We often reminisce about how we became a couple.  First matched up by friends who thought it would be a joke.  I guess we had the last laugh, didn’t we? We look back at the many changes and seasons of our life together, and we can see God’s hand on us, even when we did not recognize it at the time.

There was so much joy along the way.  How we loved being parents!  I am still fully convinced that our children are exceptional, all three of them.  There was joy, but there was sorrow, too, and deep disappointments.  We moved from Iowa to Wisconsin to Texas to Arkansas and back to Texas again, and now we have moved to another place in Texas, into another brand new house. We hope we are finished moving, although every move was an adventure.  If it goes the way we hope it will, we will not have to deal with movers who do not bring enough truck and do not know the way.  We know where we are going, and we know who is leading us there.

When we came back into the house, we saw a clip from George Jones’ funeral. Oh, there was a crowd there, and how they cheered when George’s songs were sung!  I do not know what they will sing at my funeral but I know what I shall sing as I wing my way home:

 All the Way My Saviour Leads Me

Fanny Crosby and Robert Lowry

All the way my Saviour leads me; what have I to ask beside?

Can I doubt His tender mercy, who through life has been my guide?

Heavenly peace, divinest comfort, here by faith in Him to dwell!

For I know what-e’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well!

For I know what-e’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well!

All the way my Saviour leads me, cheers each winding path I tread.

Gives me grace for every trial, feeds me with the living bread.

Though my weary steps may falter, and my soul a-thirst may be,

Gushing from the Rock before me, Lo! A spring of joy I see.

Gushing from the Rock before me, Lo! A spring of joy I see.

All the way my Saviour leads me; oh, the fullness of His love!

Perfect rest to me is promised in my Father’s house above.

When my spirit clothed immortal, Wings its flight to realms of day,

This my song through endless ages:  Jesus led me all the way.

This my song through endless ages:  Jesus led me all the way.

Leave a Reply

