Changing Seasons

Image

Photo by Carl Soerens.  Used by permission.

I remember summer

when the sun was high in the sky

and I stood in my own shadow,

my bare feet on the sandy beach,

impatient for the passing of days.

 

In the colorful weeks of autumn,

I had no time to play.

Unaware of lengthening shadows,

days sped by in harvest time.

 

Now, as winter looms

and days slow to a crawl,

while shadows grow long and lean,

I grieve the loss of summer

when the sun was high in the sky.

 

Yet in my sorrow I call to mind

the promise of an era to come

when there are no shadows at all.

There the tyranny of passing time

is laid to rest at last. There I shall live.

There I shall be free to dance and sing,

bathed in the warmth of the Risen Son.

 

3 thoughts on “Changing Seasons

  1. Loved the poem 🙂

    “There the tyranny of passing time

    is laid to rest at last.”

    Yes, the tyranny of time has to be put aside. It is strange how we do not live peacefully and in the present which makes us feel so free and open.

Leave a Reply

