The Setting Moon

I saw the moon set this morning,

golden matron of night hours.

She slipped behind distant roofs

soundlessly, or so it seemed.

Did she know we were watching

with wonder?

We had seen her do her vanishing

act before, but only on water,

with a clear horizon,

when it seemed the ocean

swallowed her in one silent gulp.

I think she stayed up late today

just for me.

The One whose hand

moves her through the night

knows I need to turn

and face the rising sun.

4 thoughts on “The Setting Moon

    • It’s my way of expressing the depth of feeling I have as Susan and Hanna return to Wisconsin after their annual visit. I MUST look ahead, not back. I must face the light, seek the face of the Risen Son.

Leave a Reply

