HE CAN, BUT EVEN IF HE DOESN’T…

HE CAN, BUT EVEN IF HE DOESN’T…

It all started with Pastor’s sermon.

He was preaching from Mark 10, a familiar passage we commonly refer to as the story of the rich young ruler.  After the rich man turned away disappointed, Jesus spoke to his disciples, “How hard is it for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God?”  He goes on to say, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible.  But not with God.  Everything is possible with God.”

Okay, I’ve heard that a million times. I figure, I’m not a rich man—no problem. I’m a long-time citizen of the Kingdom.

This particular Sunday was difficult for me. Himself, aka my husband Carl, had been in the hospital and we weren’t sure what was going on.  When the prayer team went to the front I just sat there and didn’t look around as I usually do for someone who might want prayer but hadn’t gone forward.  Honestly I was too weepy, partly because I looked around and saw all those beautiful people, Jesus-loving people…my church is amazing that way.

While I sat there, a friend came over to pray with me for Carl.  She prayed that God would heal him from his head to his toes.  A good prayer, to be sure, but I thought, at our age? What can we expect?  Complete healing?

Fast forward a couple of days.  Our daughter-the-nurse from Wisconsin will leave the next day, and our son-the-professor from Pennsylvania plans to leave a couple of days after that.  Our son-the-pastor will still be here, of course, but this is the last evening they will all three be together.  As the evening drew to a close, they laid hands on their Dad and each one prayed, thanking God for their good Dad, and praying for his complete healing—head to toe again.

I’m thinking, he’s 80 years old.  Complete healing?

And then I thought, where is it written that we have to go to Heaven in sick bodies? Isn’t it possible for our gracious Heavenly Father to simply slip us from this realm to the next without interference from illness or especially, hospitals?

“Humanly speaking, it is impossible.  But not with God.  Everything is possible with God.”

You know what? I know my God can heal Carl completely from the top of his head to the tip of his big toe.  I know this. But if he does not, God is still good, and I will still love and serve him.

“If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the furnace of blazing fire; and He will deliver us out of your hand, o king. But even if He does not, let it be known to you, O king, that we are not going to serve your gods or worship the golden image that you have set up.” Daniel 3:17-18

 

6 thoughts on “HE CAN, BUT EVEN IF HE DOESN’T…

  1. So true. I pray that indeed he will be healed, but God always has a plan for us that we don’t know about. I wish we did, but he doesn’t give us all the answers or reasons. We just have to trust which is the hard part. I don’t like being sick, but it happens. This sickness of mine just doesn’t seem to want to let go, but I am trusting that soon it will. I have my annual physical with my family doctor Wed., so I hope I will get some input from him. I pray that you are feeling better, which it sounds like you are. See you Sunday. Blessings, Janice

    Like

    • Did you recognize yourself? Tomorrow is when Carl has the MRI, so we won’t be in church. We hope the results will clarify things. I pray you’ll get some answers, too. Poor John is so worried about you.

      Like

  2. Hi Elaine,

    I’m so glad to know Carl is home and doing well. Did the doctors ever find the problem? I pray for his complete healing — head to toe. I agree with you, God doesn’t put an age limit on His blessings or His power to heal. He is GOD, Faithful and True! And whatever comes our way, He is always with us. Don’t you just feel so loved? (Sigh)

    Bob and I have decided to downsize (at least somewhat) and are building a one-story home in Allen just north of McDermott off of Custer. So only 7 minutes from where we are now. We expect to move in around the first week of June. We’re having fun with the project and looking forward to simplifying a little. But going through stuff after 22 years in this house and 44 years of marriage is a little overwhelming at times. I’ve already done quite a bit, but seems there’s always more. We’re also getting new furniture for the living area so trying to decide what to do with the old and other other furniture we can’t take.

    Isn’t it nice to have the sun shining and a little warmer temps again! Have a great day in the Sun!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Bless you and thanks for the comment. I’m thinking we’ll be downsizing soon, too, and the thought of getting rid of so much stuff terrifies me! Carl is having an MRI and MRA, whatever that is, tomorrow, and I hope the results will clarify things.

      Like

Leave a comment